It stands to reason that if knitting is slower than sewing, then blogging about knitting is going to be slower than blogging about sewing.  Granted, I’m making zippy progress with my Giant Yarn for Dummies and Tree Trunk Needles, but it’s still teeny steps compared with the zooooooooom! of the feed dogs on my increasingly dusty Husqvarna. I’m getting back into the rhythm of knitting now and starting to enjoy it, but it doesn’t change the fact that showing knitting progress seems a lot less interesting than showing sewing progress.  Case in point- a fair bit of progress was made yesterday during packing downtime on the Carlos Miele knockoff sweater.

Before:

And after:

As you can see, significant progress has been made, and yet it’s really no more interesting than it was yesterday.

To answer a couple of questions that came up before my mind starts to wander again, yes, the gauge is huge. I put my seam ripper on the work so you can get an idea of the scale.  Here’s a close up with a quarter to show you just how big those stitches are:

To answer a few more questions, I’m knitting on straight needles because the circular size 17 needle cost about $22. I love a good quality bamboo circular needle as much as the next Selfish Knitter, but the likelihood of me making future projects this tremendously chunky is very low, so I opted to make a smaller investment in the needles. The purple needles in the picture are the size 17.  The gold needle is a size 10 or 11 that I’m just using as a stitch holder. The interesting thing with working at this size is that you can grab just about anything in your vicinity to use as necessary.  I actually used a teaspoon as a cable needle yesterday because it just happened to be lying on the table before me. It was nice – the bowl of the spoon kept the stitches from slipping off while I worked my cable.

So. Yup. I guess that’s about it. Is this what knitting blogging is like? Is there anything more I should be telling you?