For the last couple of issues, Burda has been doing their full preview a little differently, starting out by showing the garments in isolation, not on models. The new 6.2010 preview is up and it’s no different. I’m a little torn on this. On one hand, it makes a lot of sense- people always grumble that the “fashion” shots on the models obscure the garments and make it hard to see what’s going on. This comparatively neutral way of displaying them give you a much better idea of what’s going on. On the other hand, without the wacky shots of models in strange context doing weird poses (and no crafts!), there’s so much less for me to chuckle and snark at, and therefore that much less entertainment for me to pass along to you. (It’s okay though, we already know from the initial preview that there’s going to be spray-tanned shirtless guys.)

Also, I think there are some garments that sort of need to be seen on a model, as they’re a bit hard to parse in disembodied form.  For example, there are some dresses that appear to be built for the proportions of a Giacometti sculpture:

And some pants shaped for some Picasso legs:

And some other garments that are just crying out for a body to make them look sane without reminding me of the figures of any artists in particular:

But overall, the issue is looking promising. The stuff above might be good, but it’s hard for me to tell without models. There are also some garments that don’t need any people in them at all to be gorgeous. For example, yum:

And yum:

And as I mentioned in my post about the initial preview, the maternity wear is stunning, chic, and versatile:

I may even snag this issue and tuck it away. You know, in the event that I find an appropriately damp and swampy environment for spawning thousands of Tadpole Selfishes in the future.