The Parity Dress, my knockoff of the Anthropologie Verite dress is finished!  Actually that’s a lie because I need to do some finishing on the inside still.  But you know how that goes. And I still don’t have a brown belt for it.

Overall it came out reasonably well.  The sweetheart neckline I drafted is not as graceful as that on the original but it’s certainly wearable.  After I sewed in the boning, the front started having those puckery horizontal creases which were not there before, and I’m not sure what to do about that.  The bodice is neither too tight nor too loose so they’re not due to pulling or sagging. It looks like it’s pulling taut across my torso, but it’s actually not- depending on how I’m standing, the front even pulls a bit away from my body. I looked at a bunch of photos of ready-to-wear strapless dresses online, and it seems that this is not an uncommon problem with this type of bodice.  But I’m curious to know how to fix it. 

Anyway, pattern will be up eventually, once I have a free evening to trace it all, cut it all up, and upload it (tedious!) 

[Incidentally, “parity” is a concept in mathematics the refers to the even-ness or odd-ness of an integer.  When dealing with binary numbers, parity is determined by the value of the least significant bit, either a 0 (even) or a 1 (odd).  Why did I name this dress “The Parity Dress”?  Because the word “parity” sounds kind of like “verite.” And because I am a dork.]