Despite the constant rain, I managed to trudge out to a very design-y part of Zurich, where I had read about Fabric Frontline. It was a bit difficult to find, as it was tucked in a courtyard beyond a walled garden and a tunnel guarded by many larger-than-life garden gnomes (as pictured here with Dan):

P1050884

Once inside we found the most neat and spotless fabric store I’ve ever seen, with every roll carefully tied at both ends with silk ribbon and not a single bolt stacked or leaning even slightly off of perfectly vertical.  I didn’t know beforehand but the store stocks pretty much just silk, in four large rooms.  Every color you can imagine, in beautiful prints, patterns and solids.  They have several textures and weaves including taffetas, brocades, georgette, and dupionis, but the majority of their stock looked to be charmeuse in some magnificent prints.

frontline-fabric-2

P1050885

 

The store was so quiet and still, I was practically on tiptoes. Everything was so neatly arranged and luxurious looking that I was afraid to touch the fabric. The woman working in the store seemed less than excited at our presence. We got a chilly reprimand when we began to explore a corner that was apparently the “collection fabrics,” which apparently customers are not supposed to handle (we didn’t know!) Perhaps I had the look of a person who was going to waste her time by browsing rather than buying anything. But really, when has the Selfish Seamstress ever entered a nice fabric store and come away empty handed?  

The answer is: Today. That’s right, thousands of rolls of exquisite silk before me and I bought nothing.  I guess I’m not really that much of a silk person, with the exception of my Delancey Dress.  I’m much more of a wool girl. Silky slippery stuff in particular is something that doesn’t show up much in my sewing or wardrobe.  I wouldn’t even know what to make with anything there.  I did find a wonderful print of  dandelion seeds scattered over a beautiful charmeuse (no photo- I’m sure I’d have been kicked out of the store if I had tried.) And I toyed for a while with the idea of just purchasing a meter or so in case I might one day think of something to make with it.  But I just couldn’t imagine wearing it, and at $142 a meter (the price of many of the fabrics- remnants were marked down to the bargain basement $100), it seemed a bit too decadent for something that might sit endlessly in my stash. It’s hard to be that selfish a seamstress on a normal seamstress budget.